Florida’s 14-day rule for car accidents is part of the states no-fault auto accident laws. All vehicles with Florida registrations must comply.
For people with injuries from auto accidents, this rule is important. This article goes into detail, but the main idea is that anyone injured should seek medical treatment as soon as possible to maintain insurance coverage.
What is no-fault insurance?
As explained on FindLaw, no-fault insurance is a system under which people get coverage for losses from their own insurance policies. This payout happens regardless of who caused the accident.
Like most other types of insurance, no-fault policies have many complications. They typically have an upper limit and only cover specific losses under specific conditions, for example.
What is the 14-day rule?
The 14-day rule concerns Florida’s no-fault insurance system for car accidents. As per state statute, injured people have 14 days to seek medical attention after a crash. These initial healthcare services could come from the following types of registered providers:
- Hospitals or hospital-owned facilities
- Ambulance paramedics
Every vehicle with a Florida registration must have a no-fault policy to cover 80 percent of medical expenses, up to at least $10,000. Injured people might lose access to that money if they do not seek emergency medical attention from a registered provider within the first two weeks after an accident.
In some rare cases, it is possible that symptoms could occur after the 14-day period is over. In others, injuries from car accidents could exceed the $10,000 loss coverage limit. No two cases are alike, so injured people should not give up on getting the support they need until they understand their situation entirely.